Poblano and Mushroom Tacos

Posted on

What:

Poblano and Mushroom Tacos

IMG_0457\

Recipe By:

The Bon Appetit Test Kitchen

Why:

It occurred to me one day that mushrooms are often used as a replacement for meat and I thought to myself, “I wonder if mushroom could be used in place of beef or chicken in tacos?”. And sure enough, here’s a potential recipe!

The Recipe:

Note: In my recipe I didn’t use the cilantro, Cotija cheese, and, instead of corn tortillas, I used flour ones.

Ingredients:

2 tablespoons vegetable oil (I used canola)

IMG_0451

1 fresh poblano chile, halved, seeded, and thinly sliced into long strips

IMG_0445 IMG_0447

1/2 small red onion, sliced

IMG_0448

3 ounces (about 1 1/4 cups) crimini (baby bella) mushrooms, thinly sliced

IMG_0449

1 teaspoon ground cumin

IMG_0453

4 corn tortillas

IMG_0454

4 thin slices Monterey Jack cheese

IMG_0450

Salt to taste

Assorted toppings (lettuce, tomatoes, hot sauce, etc.)

(I didn’t use the following ingredients)

Chopped fresh cilantro

Crumbled feta or Cotija cheese

Directions:

  • Heat 1 tablespoon oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat
  • Add poblano chile, red onion, and mushrooms

IMG_0455

  • Saute mixture until browned and softened, about 5 minutes
  • Mix in ground cumin and salt

IMG_0456

  • Transfer mixture to medium bowl
  • Heat remaining 1 tablespoon oil in the same skillet over medium-high heat
  • Add tortillas in single layer, draping up sides of skillet to fit
  • Divide mushroom mixture among tortillas, mounding on only one side
  • Place slice of Monterey Jack cheese atop filling in each tortilla
IMG_0457
My skillet only fit one at a time
  • Fold plain tortilla halves over filling and press firmly
  • Cook until tortillas are brown, about 1 minute per side
  • Transfer tacos to plates
  • Open tacos: sprinkle with chopped cilantro, crumbled feta or Cotija cheese, and toppings
  • Enjoy!

Variations:

As mentioned above I didn’t use all the ingredients and I didn’t cook them exactly the same, given the nature of flour tortillas, but I think if I used corn tortillas, that would have made a big difference in taste and texture. Also, next time I will use regular portabello mushrooms so that the ratio of slice size is better.

Review:

I think the overall flavor of this was great! The onion and chile flavor mixed very well and it had more of a sweet flavor. The only downside I found was that the mushrooms were very small in comparison to the vegetables. I think if I used regular portabello mushrooms, I could make slices comparable to the vegetables, which would make the overall dish that much better! I really like this recipe, despite being all vegetables for the most part, these are very filling. The flavor was really good and the vegetables were really the star of the show in that there isn’t really a whole lot of seasoning in this recipe, no meat needed here! I am definitely going to make this again.

Hopefully you found this recipe easy to follow and understand. Please feel free to leave a comment and let me know your thoughts on this recipe. Keep cooking with courage!

Follow my Facebook page for further recipes and ideas at Culinary Courage!

Leave a comment